Our network

Eleven FCPS Students Win National Merit Corporate Scholarships | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Eleven FCPS Students Win National Merit Corporate Scholarships
News, People, Schools

From Fairfax County Public Schools:

Eleven Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) students have been awarded corporate-sponsored scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  The students are part of a group of approximately 1,000 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships financed by companies, foundations, and other business organizations.

Winners of the corporate-sponsored scholarships, with their probable career fields in parentheses, are: 

  • Catherine Eadie of Falls Church High School (forensic science), National Merit CSC Scholarship.
  • Blair Graham of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST), (pediatrics), National Merit Gannett Foundation-Madelyn P. Jennings Scholarship.
  • Jane Hu of TJHSST (neuroscience), National Merit SAIC Scholarship.
  • Dylan Ladwig of TJHSST (computer science), National Merit Northrop Grumman Scholarship.
  • Sabrina Mohamed of TJHSST (chemical engineering), National Merit SAIC Scholarship.
  • Venkateswaran Muruganandam of TJHSST (engineering-business), National Merit CSC Scholarship.
  • Andrew Rice of TJHSST (chemistry-chemical engineering), National Merit CSC Scholarship.
  • Kelly Rogers of TJHSST (kinesiology-exercise physiology), National Merit SAIC Scholarship.
  • James Skehan of TJHSST (marketing), National Merit SAIC Scholarship.
  • Michael Wu of TJHSST (computer science-economics), National Merit CACI Scholarship.
  • Abigail Xu of TJHSST (law), National Merit Northrop Grumman Scholarship.

Corporate sponsors provide merit scholarship awards for National Merit finalists who are children of their employees or members, who are residents of communities the companies serve, or who have career interests the sponsors want to encourage.

Corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and range from $500 to $10,000 per year.  Others provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000.  Recipients can use the awards at regionally accredited U.S. colleges or universities of their choice.


News, People, Schools

McLean Deals